Join our mailing list!

Return to SkyShed POD XL3
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 You get more than a POD November 13, 2016
Reviewer: Don Bouc from Castle Rock, Colorado  
I recently got/assembled my XL3 and love it so far.  In the Photos section of the website are some snapshots I took of the assembly and final product.  What you can't see is the customer support.  Wayne is great.  As busy as he is, he takes time to answer questions, emails, phone calls, etc with incredibly fast turnaround.  He REALLY cares about his products and customers.  Refreshing.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 POD XL3 Brings New Excitement to the Hobby November 11, 2016
Reviewer: Larry Wilson from Illinois  
I have been doing astrophotography as a hobby since my retirement 8 years ago. I love it but as I got older I was having more difficulty in convincing myself to drag everything out, set it up, do the alignments and then reverse the process at 1 or 2 am. Plus, in the winter time while traveling with our camper in NM and AZ I had many nights lost to imaging due to wind. No more! The POD XL3 has cured all of that and is easy enough to assemble and disassemble that I can take it traveling with me to the Southwest for winter photography. Thanks to the POD, new life and interest has been injected into my hobby and I am looking forward to many more years of astrophotography!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I love my SkyShed POD XL3 ! September 25, 2014
Reviewer: Brian Renaud from Winnipeg, MB Canada  
Hi everyone.  I've had my POD XL3 since 2007, 7 years, and have not looked back since then.  It looks and performs today just like the day it was brand new.   Tough, durable, and provides fantastic protection for my 12 inch scope and accessories that stay in the POD year round.  I absolutely do more astronomy now then before I owned the POD.   Use to take a lot of time and effort to move everything outside, set up, align and eventually put my eye up to the eyepiece.  With my POD XL3, I just open the dome and start using my equipment in minutes.  If something comes up or the weather goes bad I can put it all away and close up the dome in minutes too!  Less time fiddling and more time observing.  Thanks Wayne and all the crew at SkyShed POD.  I love my POD and you will too.  Cheers!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I love my Pod in Vermont September 22, 2014
Reviewer: DOUGLAS DUNCAN from WEST GLOVER, VT United States  
I have had my Pod since 2010.  It is on a deck about 3ft off the ground.  Concrete Center pier and corner support columns all go below frost line to five feet below grade which I do recommend.  Also installed copper surge protection ring 2 ft below grade, also recommended.  Eventually I found I needed more headroom so I used pipe jacks under the joists to raise the entire deck and Pod about 4 inches.  Cannot do that with a concrete pad/slab.  (If you use a slab I suggest using footer below frost line.)  My wood deck and POD dome come to ambient temp with POD dome open.  I have a Celestron C11HD on a 12" concrete pier that was poured into a black plastic culvert pipe which allows me to mount cables and devices onto the pier column with screws or Velcro.  Cables run from house underground the a riser into the deck at the POD perimeter.  One bay houses electronics and the other two house accessories and dew shield items.  Happy to communicate with anyone about my experience!!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 My XL3 September 21, 2014
Reviewer: Steve from London, England  
After years of lugging the 'scope and mount out of the garage, setting it up, looking around then putting it all away, I was at a stage of giving up. I then heard about the POD so gave it a try - I haven't looked back.
It's solid, well made, easy to assemble (my daughter and I assembled it and got it up and running in an afternoon) and just does what it does.
Living in England and it being made in Canada did make me wonder about delivery times, importation etc. but it was all handled by third parties so I had to do nothing but wait. For the record, Wayne and crew at Skyshed give the best customer service and backup both before and after purchase that I've ever experienced.
Ranking this purchase in terms of how it has helped me with my hobby of astronomy, it's alongside that of buying a telescope.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 7 year old POD XL3 September 20, 2014
Reviewer: Charlie Ricketts from Dundas, ON Canada  
I’ve had a POD XL3 since 2007. It’s faithfully housed my CGE 14 and after I down sized, my CPC 9.25 without any issues. 7 years old and it looks and performs like new! I’m starting to think that I might have to do some estate planning and figure out who I’m going to will it to! It has dealt with +40 temps down to -40 here in Ontario. Had 2 feet of snow on top of it and survived without a hiccup. BUT SO HAS MY SCOPE INSIDE!!!  Everybody talks about not having to do the setup/teardown of their astro equipment. That is a given….. and the primary reason I bought my POD.  The secondary benefit  of my POD is that I no longer have a living room or garage full of telescope equipment. Even if I’m not in the mood to do some scope viewing, I’ll open the dome and sit back to observe the skies for satellites or meteors, sheltered  from the elements. My POD  is awesome! About the manufacturer .The whole Sky Shed  POD crew are amazing. Always fast to respond to any question or concerns.  I love it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 POD for all seasons September 19, 2014
Reviewer: Eric from Kincardine, ON Canada  
I have had this POD for 3 years now and would not have it any other way.  It makes observing so much easier.  Go outside, open the POD and within about a minute I am viewing.  I have a neighbour that sometimes leaves his outside light on and the POD does a wonderful job blocking this.  In the depth of winter the shelter the POD provides from the wind seems to make it feel a lot warmer

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 One of the 1st XL3s still going strong September 19, 2014
Reviewer: Craig Bobchin from Corona, CA United States  
I've got one of the early XL3s. Long before the days of EcoMate insulation and Lined bays.

I love my XL3. While I don't use it as much as I used to due to family changes and a move to a location with worse seeing, I still use it on occasion and am considering moving it to our club's dark sky site.

The Skyshed POD is one of the best investments I've made in this hobby.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Skyshed Pod September 15, 2014
Reviewer: John Cook from Stamford, CT United States  
I purchased one of the earliest Pods and have absolutely loved it. Previously I had kept my telescope in the house and had to lug it out and go through the alignment process each time. The Pod has allowed me to keep it always ready to use, and saved my back from all the setup and break down. I really don't know how I would have gotten along without it. Wayne has always been there to help out with any problems or questions. The Pod is the best thing that has happened in Astronomy.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 My XL3 September 6, 2014
Reviewer: Mat Snellings from Virginia Beach, VA United States  
How do you start a review on a product that as far as I am concerned is the best thing that has happened to Astronomy short of the Telescope. Let’s see I get to observe more. I don’t have to lug out all my equipment every time I want to observe and take the time to set it up. I don’t have to take the equipment down when I am done for the night and lug it back into the house. All I do is carry out my laptop and plug it in, power up the mount, open the Dome and do an alignment and away I go. Ten min max. The rest of the night is spent doing what I love the most.
All I can say about SkyShed products is, they are the best and Wayne and Lorelei are always there to help. Thanks to all on the SkyShed POD team for making my observing so much more fun. You will love it. There is a quote from a move that says it all “If you build it, he will come” And I think Wayne was listening when he built it as a LOT of people came to SkyShed and left with a POD. I did and wouldn’t trade it for anything!


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items