Join our mailing list!

Return to SkyShed POD XL5
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Only the best from Sky Shed. November 13, 2016
Reviewer: Pierre Lachambre from St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada  
I’m the proud owner of a XL5 POD with a Visor. I live in a heavy light polluted area and I get up at 4:00 in the morning to go to work. Before I had my POD, I could only go out on Friday’s and Saturday’s to do some astronomy. Now, I get out any night, open the dome and get running in five minutes. No set up, no packing, five to 10 minutes and I’m ready to go back in the house. It is the best investment I did for my Hobby. Assembly is so easy and the product is of top engineering and quality. Good work Wayne and all at Sky Shed POD.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Love the Pod November 11, 2016
Reviewer: WES from Lebanon, TN  
I have been using the sky shed pod with 5 bays for well over a year now. I thoroughly enjoy it! Assembly was easy and I put expandable water seal tape on the bottom to make it water tight.  It does not take long to fill up the bays with stuff such as seats, laptop and equipment shelves and dew shields, etc.. I built my own pzt to slid the dome onto so I would have better zenith access with my Celestron Edge HD 14" telescope. It clears the dome so I don't have to reposition it to a different park position each time I close it up for the night. The dome rotates easily on the wheels and is easy to slide onto the zenith table. The pod allows me to leave the scope setup and ready for my next observing session. Previously had to assemble the telescope in the driveway and it took an hour to setup and then would have to tear it all back down when finished. Was a real pain in the neck. The pod locks and I feel it is very secure when closed up.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Here's my POD experience so far November 11, 2016
Reviewer: Tim99 from Western New York  
I am enjoying my POD very much.It has plenty of room for me with five bays.  It is dry and I feel like my equipment is housed in a good place.  The dome rolls very easily and I like the 4ft high side walls.  I can stand or sit in there and feel like I am outside under the stars.(I didn't want an observatory where I felt like I was trapped in a box.) If you are into observing the cosmos, this little observatory is your answer to a relatively inexpensive and quick  set-up. My only concern so far:  I am into Astrophotography and my only concern with the POD is the dome blocks targets at zenith.  I built my own PZT (Pod Zenith Table) which enables me to push the dome completely off the POD but then if I want to change targets in that direction the dome is in the way again.  I am working on a PZT design that will allow 360 degree open access to the sky which is what I like. There is no perfect observatory but this one comes close!  It really is awesome for the backyard  astronomer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Such a deal September 21, 2014
Reviewer: John Pierre from Othello, WA United States  
I shopped and researched for hours before I bought my POD. I am glad I did. It was the best buy and virtually indestructible. I had a large windstorm that took out a 50 year old tree but did not even bother the POD on a floating deck.

    I'm so happy I got the extra bays. You fill them up so fast it's not funny.

    The support is great here. Sometimes parts may take a little time but I remember an old saying " Do you want Quality or Quantity? ". Existing POD owners are on Yahoo and chatting all the time about their experiences.

  BUY IT YOU'LL LiIKE IT

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Awsome product. August 25, 2014
Reviewer: rlc987@hotmail.com from North Zulch, TX United States  
I have been using my Pod for several months now and don't know how I did astronomy without it. No more making eighteen trips to and from the backyard hauling all my gear in and out of the house every time I want to do some viewing or astrophotography. Now I simply open up the Pod, turn on the scope and computers and start viewing or imaging. It only takes about 5 minutes as every thing is already setup and well protected from the elements and theft. I have gone through some pretty severe weather with it and had only a very minor leak at one of the hinge points ( about a 1/4 cup got inside ) but that was with driving rain and wind around 60 mph.

I would highly recommend this product to any serious observer as you will find that it greatly increases your viewing time and opportunities because of the convenience of no more setup.

Richard Coggins

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Pleased with my SkyShed POD XL5 August 18, 2014
Reviewer: Paul Goodwin from Prescott Valley, AZ United States  
2 1/2 minutes from my back door to having the first object centered in my eyepiece!* Even less time closing up and going back into the house!

* 5 inch TeleVue NP127 on a Sirius computerized mount.

I bought 3 of the shelf kits - plenty of room to put stuff! POD visor, vinyl dome cover, and the PZT. What more could I want?

After 3 years, a slight leak in one the seams - probably the calking drying out. Easy fix.

I LOVE my SkyShed POD! The only reason I'd give it up is to swap it for a SkyShed MAX.

Paul Goodwin
Prescott Valley, AZ

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice August 18, 2014
Reviewer: William Berglin from Johnstown, CO United States  
Great being able to run out back and be imaging in a few minutes.  Heavy winds and rains, everything stays dry, setup and secure.

Quite a conversation starter with the neighbors too!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I LOVE my POD August 18, 2014
Reviewer: Karen from Newman Lake, WA United States  
A Pod takes the hobby to a new level.  Now my setup is always ready for use.  The 5 bays are perfect, because as you add gear you have a place to store everything.

I've got a couple telescopes, my mount, cameras and everything all in their own pod home.  I save tons of time because my mount is on a pier and already aligned and ready to go. I've got a PC in one bay, eye pieces and misc in another, and an AC and dehumidifier in another bay.  The other two bays hold my second telescope and a bunch of miscellaneous gear.

The pod is well constructed and quite sturdy.

I can open the dome and be ready to go in a few minutes.  When I'm done, I close up the pod in a few minutes and can start shooting my dark photos, and head off to bed.  A wireless connection between the house and pod lets me transfer my photos to my house PC.

The POD is just fabulous and the best purchase I could have made for the hobby.  Easy to assemble and use.  Really, it was a genius of an idea.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Easy to assemble, a joy to use August 6, 2014
Reviewer: Dan from Brockport, NY, United States  
Best purchase I've made in this hobby!  A great option for those without a lot of time or building experience.  Only takes a few hours with a helper and some minimal tools.

I LOVE the versatility of the POD.  The as-shipped configuration provides much of the wind-blocking of a slotted dome, but a much more open view of the sky like an ROR (roll off roof).  If you want even more of the sky available, you can buy a PZT (or build one like I did) and easily push the dome off to the side.  They also sell the Visor and Shield if you need more protection like a slotted dome.

Overall, the POD is VERY solid and well made.  Only a few minutes to open it up and be ready for viewing so I find myself observing a lot more often.  The 5 bays are wonderful for all the storage space they provide!

The only limitation is that the dome opening and closing does not lend itself well to automation.  If you're looking for more of a remote control operation, the POD may not be the best answer.

Was this review helpful to you?